Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Beverly Cleary & the 2010 Los Angels Times Book Prze

The 2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes ceremony honors the best books of 2010

The 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes will be awarded April 29, 2011, in a ceremony at the Los Angeles Times building. Beloved children’s author Beverly Clearly is awarded 2010 Robert Kirsch Award.

Book Prizes – Los Angeles Times Festival of BooksThe Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were first awarded in 1980, with the idea of honoring literary excellence and celebrating the community of readers in Los Angeles. Now, more than thirty years later, the Book Prizes have expanded to 10 categories, have honored more than thirty writers from the west with the Kirsch Award, and now offer an Innovator’s Award, which recognizes the people and institutions that are doing cutting edge work to bring books, publishing and storytelling into the future. Past winners include: Nobel Laureates Gabriel Garcia Marquez, National Book Award winners Joan Didion; and Dave Eggers, who won the current interest prize for “Zeitoun” in the same year that he was named winner of the Innovator’s Award for his work with McSweeney’s, the 826 Literacy organization and his multitude of other achievements in the world of books.

The 2010 Book Prizes Innovator’s Award Winner, Robert Kirsch Award Winner, and the category finalists were announced publicly on February 22, 2011. Click here to view the winners

Attica Locke will be presenting Mystery/Thriller Prize.

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments: